Shihad + The Datsuns – 31/12/06 – Hawea Motor Lodge

New Year’s Eve at Lake Hawea is something of a tradition in the South Island, and most years there is someone half decent playing. We got lucky, and The Datsuns decided to make one of their infrequent trips back home. Odd set up – it was a concrete yard out the back of a motor lodge, very young crowd, and the missus and I were probably the only punters that weren’t asked for ID at the bar. Wasn’t that interested in Shihad – they have a couple of good tracks, but no more.

Datsuns Dec 2006
Datsuns, Hawea Motor Lodge

Anyway, The Datsuns were on about 10 and played for over an hour. The best I’d seen them, I think. ‘Smoke And Mirrors’ was recently out, and the 3 or 4 they played off that sounded really good live, as well as the staples from the first two. The sound was not half bad for an outdoor gig, but annoyingly, half the crowd didn’t even seem remotely interested in them – it’s not as though we’re overflowing with quality gigs down here. Shihad came on to a much warmer reception, and merely confirmed my suspicions – that they are incredibly bland. The crowd loved them though, so I guess it’s hoarses for coarses and all that…

They took my ticket off me and wouldn't give it back :-(

2 thoughts on “Shihad + The Datsuns – 31/12/06 – Hawea Motor Lodge

  1. Rachel Cox December 1, 2011 / 9:50 am

    hi there just woundering where do get tickets for this gig and how much
    thanks rachel

    • bytorandthesnowdog December 2, 2011 / 8:37 am

      Hi Rachel – tickets are $35,000,000 each (plus booking fee). How many will you be wanting?

      This may seem rather expensive but of course it includes camping, 2 free drinks (wine and beer only), and estimated* development costs for a time machine. I haven’t finished the time machine yet but I’m confident it will be ready in time for New Year’s Eve. I just have to complete some minor modifications to my Sonic Death Ray then I’ll be able to devote pretty much all my time to this project. The good news is that I’ve more or less built the time machine (it’s closely modelled on the phone booth from Bill & Ted’s Excellent Adventure, which is a good start, I’m sure you’ll agree) – it’s just the mechanics of time travel itself that (thus far) elude me.

      You will of course benefit from 2006 prices once you arrive in Hawea but as there is virtually no reliable documentation available on time travel, I’m not sure whether you will arrive back in 2006 as the 2006 Rachel, or the today Rachel, so I don’t know if you’ll be old enough to purchase alcohol. Probably best to take some ID just to be on the safe side.

      I would be very grateful if you could write a brief report of your experiences of time travel, including pictures, so I can get published in the New Scientist. I’ll put you down as research assistant, how does that sound?

      I’ll be in touch nearer the time, to arrange bank details etc etc.
      Regards
      Prof By-Tor

      * it’s a famously tricky one to nail, time travel. Conventional science has already dismissed it as the stuff of science fiction, but rest assured I am not easily deterred. Together, I know we can crack it Rachel, with your money and my brains. And my telephone kiosk.

Leave a Reply

