Queens Of The Stone Age + Millionaire – 27/10/02 – The Forum, London

I had heard ‘Songs For The Deaf’ on a footy road trip up to Scarborough (why else would anyone go to Scarborough, for fuck’s sake?) a few weeks previously and was instantly hooked. The way the first track ‘No One Knows’, just drops in, like a smack in the face, is just brutal. Has to be heard live to be appreciated properly, I’m sure.

They took my ticket off me and wouldn't give it back :-(Anyway, The Forum was pretty packed out, with a real mixed crowd of indie/metal/grunge kids. QOTSA were electric, I loved all the stuff I knew, but the stuff off the previous albums was equally awesome. Josh Homme is likely the only 7ft ginger guitarist I know of – his voice is great live, but not as good as Mark Lanegan, whom they wheeled on for 3 of 4 songs from ‘Songs…’ Great stuff.

Leave a Reply

