Bridgnorth GRR Festival, Bridgnorth, Shropshire – 25-26/07/98

A nice little ‘family’ festival on a farm in the idyllic Shropshire countryside. I think Ozric Tentacles played, but I was well over them by that point. A Welsh folky band called Bhang To Rights are the only other act I can remember, but I’m fairly sure it was nearly all local bands anyway. The complete antithesis of Glastonbury really – no corporate behemoths, no mobile phone masts, no live TV coverage, no cash points on site, none of that crap that spoiled Glastonbury.

Bridgnorth GRR Festival ticket Jul 1998

5 thoughts on “Bridgnorth GRR Festival, Bridgnorth, Shropshire – 25-26/07/98

  1. Will Moindrot February 20, 2011 / 10:36 pm

    They did have a live video webcast though – myself and my dad worked on it! I’ve got video tapes we took somewhere

    • bytorandthesnowdog February 24, 2011 / 8:51 am

      Post em up! If I’d seen a camera I would definitely done a natty little dance in front of it.

  2. Poggs January 7, 2012 / 11:26 am

    I remember this festival well, as my band played at it. We played in a tent, after some clown/entertainer fellow and a hardcore band going by the fantastic name of ‘Police Bastard’, I seem to recall. The bloke out of Chumbawamba, Danbert Nobacon, also played as well as Goldblade (John Robb’s band). 90s rap outfit Credit to the Nation were also billed, but can’t remember whether they showed up or not. I was rendered pretty unsteady by the local cider for most of it. I’d definitely be interested in seeing the video footage, Will.

  3. bytorandthesnowdog January 8, 2012 / 7:40 am

    Pretty sure Credit To The Nation didn’t play – I would have definitely remembered them cause I was well into them around that time 🙂

  4. Will Moindrot April 14, 2017 / 8:23 am

    five years later, I’ll send through a link if I can find the recordings!

Leave a Reply

