Hawkwind + Chumbawamba + Back To The Planet + Aphex Twin + Test Dept + Senser + Transglobal Underground + Dub Warriors – 14/08/93 – Brixton Academy

Hawkwind ticket Aug 1993Oh look, another all-nighter at Brixton. This time 24hrs. Hawkwind were very good this time, but the highlight of the night, apart from the excellent Aphex Twin, was Chumbawamba, featuring Credit To The Nation. It was the first time I’d seen them, but I knew their earlier, punkier material fairly well. This was the beginning of the poppy stuff, and the first time I’d heard ‘Enough Is Enough’. Credit To The Nation (the rapper MC Fusion and his two dancers Mistah G and T-Swing) made Chumbawamba really danceable – I’d heard his voice on one track on Shhh! but he was much more part of the band tonight. Remember me nothing more.

2 thoughts on “Hawkwind + Chumbawamba + Back To The Planet + Aphex Twin + Test Dept + Senser + Transglobal Underground + Dub Warriors – 14/08/93 – Brixton Academy

  1. Steph May 19, 2015 / 2:10 pm

    Heh, pulled out my old ticket for this a few days ago, and thought I’d search to see if it’s mentioned anywhere! A truly great allnighter – I went mainly to see Chumba, Aphex and Transglobal, and was the first time I’d ever seen Hawkwind (and very good they were too!) 🙂

  2. don September 15, 2016 / 10:38 pm

    Still got my ticket, stuck on my ticket board from all those years ago…one of the best all-nighters’ I’ve ever been to with every band on top form and the place just alive with little black dots and sensi-ble smells.. Many happy memories of friends I shared those 24hours with,some I havnt seen for years……but we all still have our tickets…says something…

Leave a Reply

